Hip, hip, hooray…it’s Friday!

I’m a stay-at-home mom so I really don’t do anything different on the weekends, and yet, I still love the excitement of Fridays, lol! And this Friday I have a couple of fun things to show you.

First up is the One Story Down Block Party kit that Snips and Snails has out this week, it’s called Belle Ame which means beautiful soul.

 

Here’s one I made of me with my Grandma in 2009 when she was 93 years old.  Really makes me think I ought to make the trek up north to see her again now that she’s 96!

Here’s one of my darling daughter on her birthday!

When I started this LO I had the blue cardstock for the background.  But really I felt it needed just a little more than plain cardstock. But the patterned papers were just a little bit too much, except for one…but I didn’t like that it was so dark. So…I blended the two together to make the background.

I ended up liking this one the best, I put the patterned paper under the cardstock in the layers panel and just lowered the opacity of the cardstock to 80%.   I liked how it kept the darker aspects from the background while keeping the true blue of the cardstock.

But I did like some of the other results when I was playing with the blending modes.

The first one is using  Darken, the second one is Screen and the third one is Lighter Color.

If you’ve never played with blending modes its super easy and super fun.  With your top layer selected (see arrow) and your patterned paper below it, click on the arrow next to Normal (see circle) to get a dropdown box with lots of blending options.  This one is Multiply.

It’s amazing how many great looks you can create!  The dodge and burn modes are really wild!

I also got to play with a new release from Memory Clips by Ramona.  This one is “They Call Me Daddy“. Perfect for Father’s Day LOs!

Or of dads and sons at car shows!

I used a new template set from Moments Scrapped, Quartet Photo v2.

Last but not least I used a new template set from Scrap-n-a-Snap. She has an amazing series going on right now of two-page spreads for each week of the summer, this is week 3!

Of course we really haven’t done anything spectacular this summer…so I used it to to scrap Erica’s Easter page for this year!

I’m also excited to say that I joined the Down This Road Designs team as Advertising Manager!  So excited to work with Angie and her team, they are all fabulous!

So until next time…

Leave a Reply

